Useful Design Resources and Topics

About a month ago, I attended MHacks 6 in Ann Arbor. Hackathons are a great place to learn or sharpen programming skills and I think it is important to attend at least one before graduating if you plan on doing anything in IT. While I was at this particular hackathon, I attended a talk focused on design.

As it turns out, there is a whole hackathon community centered around design that is fairly active and posts some great information/resources for everyone to use. The talk I went to focused on a few different topics including information architecture, UI design, and visual design. I encourage you to check out a summary of the discussion here.

1-yEFsdOwc4kvMfSlc45YLTQ

Not only did I learn a lot from this talk, Chen Ye (the main presenter) also left us with a tremendous list of useful resources for design that keeps growing. The categories he has included resource for range from design principles, to typography, to front end development, and more. The list can be found here. Also, there is a film coming out soon that looks like it will really put the importance of design in the limelight. You can check out a preview here.

1-uDSXfflOUXlcV06fIvTG8w

Design is incredibly important to any product whether technical or physical. I hope that my posts are beginning to illustrate that anybody can find design useful. My goal is to have a great list of resources and design topics put all together into this blog by the end of the semester so that someone can view them and learn a great deal of information.

I am beginning to see a tremendous shift in the young technical community to seeing design as essential and that is very good for the world. The people I know will be the next generation of great minds and will go on to make numerous products used by everyone. The more they think about and use design, the more successful they will be and the more their users will truly love their products.

Leave a Reply

