The dislike button has a different face than expected

Earlier this month, Facebook cofounder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced that Facebook would be getting a “dislike” button for users to show sympathy to other users. The arrival of this button has been long awaited and asked for by users for years. This week a new “liking” system was unveiled for users to show exact emotions rather than “liking” or “disliking” statuses and pictures.

The new “like”/”dislike” system gives Facebook users the chance to respond to posts, pictures, and statuses with six different emotions: “love,” “yay,” “haha,” “wow,” “angry” and “sad.” This makes the whole “dislike” idea much cleaner and simpler, removing the chance for users to “dislike” posts just to be spiteful or rude.

“As you can see, it’s not a ‘dislike’ button, though we hope it addresses the spirit of this request more broadly,” –Facebook’s chief of product, Chris Cox.

The new system aims to fill the need for a way to show sympathy/etc. on posts without coming across as being rude.

Personally, I think this system was ingenious and creative. The team behind the product worked diligently to create this and I hope it takes off and is received well. The six emotions are being tested in two different test markets in Ireland and Spain to see if it is used and how well. Facebook hopes to see it succeed so they can present it globally by the end of the year.

You can read more about the six emotion “dislike” system here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s